PDA

View Full Version : Another Hall Mark Moment

The Boot
3rd June 2007, 10:17 PM
As a rank amateur, I have got to say this.

I've been casting my mind back to the days of Plugger at FF ... and ... well he used to burst out on the lead, see. With some FB a cigarette paper distance behind him.

Then as he approached the incoming sherrn, he'd slow the pace a touch .. almost propping a tad. The closely tagging opponent would virtually run into the back of him, as Pluggsy would put the foot back on the accelerator - to be gifted the chest mark. Time and again.

Now ... can someone please tell me how Mal Michael was able to fist the ball clear so many times?

Why is Baz not employing some mechanism/strategy, to conteract Michael's well rehearsed technique (a cunning fullback - NOTE the repeat last night on Baz of his Richo episode last week, by backing into the forward whose eyes are on the ball).

ugg
3rd June 2007, 10:28 PM
Perhaps because he was playing in front a lot of the time. Perhaps because he had help from 1 or 2 of his teammates blocking Hall's space.

BBBBH
3rd June 2007, 10:30 PM
mal micheal is a gun FB. hall just got beaten by a better opponent on the day, it happens.

liz
3rd June 2007, 10:40 PM
Plugger was quicker over the first few metres, though Hall could probably beat him over 20 or so metres.

Plugger was also a much better mark than Hall.

Hall has attributes that Plugger didn't have but its unfair to judge him against one of the best lead and markers of recent history.

NMWBloods
3rd June 2007, 11:01 PM
Barry Hall marks like a seal. Always has done, always will do. Just about the worst marking technique I have ever seen of a key forward. Because he can't mark effectively in front of his face, and really can't mark overhead virtually at all, a decent defender can come over the top. That is Michael's strength.