PDA

View Full Version : The Harbour Views AFL

andyn
31st May 2011, 11:03 AM
Hi guys,

I'm a journalist by trade, but unfortunately I don't get to write about one of my favourite topics, footy!

As a born and bread NSW boy, I'm very proud to love AFL. With GWS coming on scene, I wanted to start encouraging more NSW/Sydney based footy journalism. That doesn't mean writing articles about the Swans, but also looking at footy in general from a NSW perspective.

Truth is that we are starved of good AFL writing up here, and whilst I don't think my blog/website is anything revolutionary (far from it) - I'm happy to contribute in my own way to what I hope will be an increased interest in the sport we love.

RWO is a great forum and I don't want to clog it up with too many of my own thoughts about the game.

So if you can, please check out my blog

The Harbour Views - Sydcentric AFL (www.harbourviewsafl.com)

or better yet, follow me on twitter or facebook: harbourviewsafl

Maybe some of you guys can start your own.

Just two articles there at the moment, but hopefully will pen a few a week.

Thanks again for your support.
Cheers
Andy

dimelb
31st May 2011, 11:59 AM
... As a born and bread NSW boy ...
So if you can, please check out my blog
The Harbour Views - Sydcentric AFL (www.harbourviewsafl.com) ...

Andy, you may be born and bread in NSW, but you're obviously no loafer.
I enjoyed reading your blog, especially about why some clubs have a better success rate than others. A factor to consider is coaching. Just think if we'd had Wallace instead of Roos.
Another factor is money: clubs like Collingwood, the Eagles and Essendon have vast amounts of money they pour into football departments, which do not come under the salary cap. We were leaders in this area 6 years ago and got a jump on the others.
Another is recruiting. Once you get past the top 20 or so, the draft starts to become a bit of a lottery, but some clubs have repeatedly made a hash of the top 10.