PDA

View Full Version : Kicking behinds

Kallias
18th December 2003, 01:14 PM
I'm relatively new to our great game (been a Swans member for 6 years) and I work with a guy who is a one-eyed rugby league maniac. He doesn't completely hate AFL, but he bags me out about it a fair bit.

So I'm hoping you guys can help me out with one thing. One of his main beefs about our game is the behind posts. He can't understand why we get a point if we miss. I've tried a few arguments like: if we only had one set of posts there wouldn't be as many scoring opportunities, or the goalkicker has more to aim at - but I'm not really getting anywhere as I don't really know myself. Can anyone give me the definitive answer(s) so I can shut him up for a while?

Sanecow
18th December 2003, 01:30 PM
Um, because it's a game. In cricket, why is it 6 runs for hitting the ball over the fence and 4 for hitting it on the bounce? Because that's the way it is. We get 6 for between the big sticks and 1 for between the little ones. It's not "missing" any more than hitting a four in cricket.

BAM_BAM
18th December 2003, 02:34 PM
ask him why a conversion in league is worth two but a field goal is worth one? Both have to go between the posts and above the cross bar??? At least we have a different number of points for the different posts.;)

Tooth Fairy
19th December 2003, 01:22 PM
Originally posted by Kallias
I'm relatively new to our great game (been a Swans member for 6 years) and I work with a guy who is a one-eyed rugby league maniac. He doesn't completely hate AFL, but he bags me out about it a fair bit.