View Full Version : Undefeated Sides Go Head To Head In Central West Afl Round 3

Phil Doyle
30th April 2003, 02:53 PM
The Parkes Panthers and the Cowra Blues, two early pace-setters in the Central West AFL, go head to head this coming Saturday at Mulyan Oval, Cowra.

The Blues have got off to a flying start this season, winning the pre-season lightning premiership and winning two tough encounters against the students of CSU and the Dubbo Demons. This week they are at home against the Parkes Panthers who easily accounted for Mudgee last weekend and opened their account with a narrowly fought win over a luckless Dubbo Demons.

Dubbo Demons have a chance to open their account against First Grade newcomers the Mudgee Black Swans at South Dubbo Oval. Dubbo?s kicking for goal has crucially let them down in their first two encounters and they will be keen to post a big score against the battling Black Swans.

The Bathurst Eagles will be keen to avenge last weeks loss to the Orange Tigers in this week?s return encounter. The game is at George Park, Bathurst and the Tigers will be looking for back to back wins over the fast running Eagles side.

CSU are still on a break.

The CWAFL representative side has started training and is gearing up for their May 17 clash against the Northern Riverina Representative side. A good sign has been the dedication, enthusiasm and numbers to training of the junior squads that will also be taking on the Northern Riverina on May 17.


Results details and this week?s umpire appointments below.

CWAFL Results
Round 2 Saturday, 26 April 2003
First Grade
Cowra Blues 16.11 (107)
Dubbo Demons 15.15 (105)
Goalkickers: Cowra; Francis Bright 6, Ron Roe 4, Geoff Day 2, Warren McKenzie, Corey Kennedy, Mick McLeish, Kim Reid. Dubbo; Benjamin Storer 4, Matt Shepherd 3, Joshua Gilroy 2, Benjamin Clark 2, Nathan Twomey, Hal Walton, Brian Fogarty, Stewart Todd. Best: Cowra; Nathan Reed, Mick Manning, Francis Bright. Dubbo; Ben Burbury, Brian Fogarty , Matt Shepherd. At Mulyan Oval, Cowra
Parkes Panthers 39.21 (255)
Mudgee Black Swans 1.2 (8)
Goalkickers: Unavailable. Best: Mudgee; Hill, Strazdins, McKenzie. Parkes; Ford, Byrne, Meurett. At Mudgee Sports Ground
Orange Tigers 20.17 (137)
Bathurst Eagles 10.9 (69)
Goalkickers Orange Nic Freedman 7, Tim Byrne 4, Nathan Pearce 3, Craig Donaldson 2, R Beason, Paul Byrnes, Mark Cantrill. Bathurst; Leigh Kingwill 2, Matt Willis 2, Andrew Collins, David Jackson, Brodie Willis, Chris Long, Justin Cooper. Best: Orange; Nathan Pearce, Tim Byrne, Nic Freedman. Bathurst; Chris Long, Leigh Kingwill, Justin Cooper. At Anzac Park,.
Reserve Grade
Cowra Blues 15.8 (98) d Dubbo Demons 5.8 (38) Parkes Panthers 26.22 (178) Mudgee Black Swans 1.0(6) Bathurst Eagles 19.15 (129) Orange Tigers 11.9 (75)
Under 17s
Dubbo Demons 15.15 (105) d Cowra Blues 1.1 (7) Parkes Panthers 25.13 (163) Mudgee Black Swans 1.1 (7) Bathurst Eagles 9.14 (68) Orange Tigers 6.5 (41)
Under 14s
Cowra Blues 9.7 (61) Dubbo Demons 6.6 (42) Parkes Panthers 25.15 (165) Mudgee Black Swans 3.4 (22) Bathurst Eagles 9.10 64 Orange Tigers 8.11 (59)
Central West AFL Ladder
First Grade
Team Points Win Loss Draw Bye For Agst %
Parkes Panthers 8 2 0 0 0 365 82 445%
Orange Tigers 8 2 0 0 0 292 110 265%
Cowra Blues 8 2 0 0 0 185 174 106%
Bathurst Eagles 4 1 0 0 1 70 138 51%
CSU Bulldogs 0 0 1 0 0 69 78 88%
Dubbo Demons 0 0 2 0 0 179 217 82%
Mudgee Black Swans 0 0 2 0 0 49 410 12%
Central West AFL Leading Goalkickers
First Grade
M Mervet Parkes Panthers 15
Dale Meuret Parkes Panthers 15
Nic Freedman Orange Tigers 12
Damian Byrne Parkes Panthers 12
Tim Byrne Orange Tigers 8

CWAFL Round 3 Umpire Appointments:
Bathurst vs Orange at George Park Bathurst
1st Grade - P Delaney, M Sloan
Reserve Grade - Noel Sibley, M Sloan
U17 - B Matheson, A McIntyre
Cowra vs Parkes at Mulyan Oval, Cowra
1st Grade - J Ryan, P Clowry
Reserve Grade - J Ryan, P Clowry
U17 - G Day, R Jay
Dubbo vs Mudgee at Dubbo
1st Grade - W Smith, C Coy
Reserve Grade - A Charlesworth, S Menzies
U17 - M Haley, S Menzies
First Grade: 2:30pm
Reserve Grade: 12:45pm
U17s: 11:00am
U14s: 9:45am